Tags

, , , , , ,

Nephew JaCory (center, with hat on) surrounded by coaches, teammates and family on his Signing Day!

The Grant family woke up early (too early) Wednesday morning and drove to Dinwiddie, Virginia (south of Richmond) to show support as Jacory publicly committed to playing football at North Carolina Central University.

As I walked into the auditorium of Dinwiddie High School the players had just picked up their pens to sign their official commitment letters. Standing behind Jacory were his parents (Cherel and John White) and my 3rd sister and brother-in-law, Cherae and Chris Jones Sr.

After I quietly settled Lela and Niara in their seats, I walked down the aisle with Lourdes on hip to get a closer look. I wanted to soak in the moment and allow myself a minute or two to remember Jacory — from the very first time I kissed his chubby checks, to the first time Khari and I watched him by ourselves, to him showing me football exercises to help me loose my baby weight, to him laying in the middle of the kitchen floor as I helped him with his college essays…all the way to the moment he accepted a football scholarship to NCCU.

After the signing he was interviewed, along with fellow teammates, by The Progress newspaper. It was fun to watch him participate in an interview and blush at all the flashing lights from the cameras.

During this season of Jacory’s life I have been praying that he would have options to choose from regarding college acceptances. That prayer has surely come true. Now my prayer will be that he will finish well...in-tack and in alignment with God’s will for his life!

So to all those students out there may you BE ENCOURAGED to work hard! And to the village folks that engulfs them (moms, dads, grandparents, aunts, uncles, cousins, godparents, pastors, teachers, mentors, counselors, siblings,etc.) continue to pray with, over, and for these darling children. And may you celebrate them loudly when they accomplish great things!

Congratulations JaCory!

Chantel ~ The Muse

20121215_223035AV

 

