Tags

, , ,

When I got to Village School the other day I was met (no, more like tackled) by my niece, Jordan who just had to share the latest and greatest ‘awesome’ thing that has happened to her.

Wide—eyed and bushy tail was I to hear all about this exciting news, and then she pulled out math flash cards.

What?

Math?

“I’ll be back, I have to use the bathroom, “ I said. Ok, it was true…I really did have to go-but all the while I was thinking to myself, Math…really? For those of you who don’t really know me very well, I am not a math person…at all (although I do have a deep abiding respect for numbers).

Jordan is our 2nd to Launch and part of launching means the SAT. She has aggressive goals for herself, and wants to get the best score possible. The math section has been an area that has been challenging her. So her good news (especially for all the village elders…we don’t have to do it) is that her mom found someone to tutor her, and most importantly, he is someone that Jordan loves (Yeah mom, Cherie)!

She was so excited about her tutor, that she couldn’t wait to tell me about him. Little sister was so great, she waited patiently for her class with me to start and yielded time to her big sister (I don’t think she was rushing to start talking about our new read, Great Expectations). Who says little sisters don’t know how to share?

After taking me through every step of the session (including having me solve a word problem that included horizontal, oblique, and parallel lines with letters–that’s about all I can do to describe it) she said she believed her score was going to increase, that this tutor was exactly what she needed. She was fired up & ready to go. And I was happy for her.

I left excited for my niece, thanking God that he sent her someone extra special to help build her confidence and understand concpets that tripped her up before.

I was also excited for myself as it confirmed for me, when stuck…get help. And I left our dear Village School table happily musing about all the areas I need a professional push in!

Yeah Jordan!!

Stay Encouraged & Be Blessed!

Chantel, the Muse

 

